Change text
  • Normal text
  • Colour Text
  • Black and white text

National Archives Advisory Council


The National Archives Advisory Council was established in January 1987 under Section 20 of the National Archives Act, 1986, to advise the Minister with responsibility for the National Archives – the Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht - in the exercise of his powers under the Act and on all matters affecting archives and their use by the public. Members of the National Archives Advisory Council are appointed for a period of five years.


In addition to the functions allocated to the Council under the National Archives Act, the Council may, under Section 80(6) of the Local Government Act of 2001 and Section 92 of the Harbours Act of 1996, advise the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government and the Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources on any matters affecting local and harbour archives.